Scavenge The Stars

Revenge. It was a word that pumped through her blood and set the stars on fire.”

Poetic prose as sharp as knives. Captivating characters that weave together, plot points ebbing and flowing, unfolding in escalating waves. Oh. And don’t forget the stabby girls. All the stabby, stabby girls. These are just a few of the reasons Scavenge The Stars is one of my favorite reads of the year.

Alternating between the two perspectives of Amaya and Cayo, we get a sweeping range of the country Moray. Decadent yet tarnished, I love how we see both the spectrum of the upper class and the seedy underbelly through Cayo. But really, that’s how we see all the characters. Through various lenses that allows each of them to become a fully developed, three-dimensional person. They glimmer while showing their tarnished edges, just like we all do.

“All he saw was a girl without a mask to hide behind, flawed and fierce and beautiful.”

Another one of my favorite things is how Sim plays with our senses. She features gambling as a major component of Cayo’s character. But she uses the same tricks in her own writing, dazzling us with what we think we know while blindsiding us with a card we never saw being played. It’s this talent with words that makes each character fit in with their scenery, giving the reader extra flavor to expand the world beyond the pages.

To say I enjoyed this book is a massive understatement. And in a cruel twist of fate, or maybe in a move giving me exactly what I want, the book ends by only promising more. The first in an epic duology, Scavenge The Stars will keep fantasy readers turning pages late into the night. It’s stabby and full of revenge but is also full of unexpected heart and gut punching twists.

Before I go… I leave you with this quick bite…

Excerpt:

Revenge. It was a simple word when spoken out loud, but it was so much bigger, like the hidden city under the atoll. It was a word of fire and blood, of a knife’s whisper and the priming of a pistol.

It was a word that consumed her, filled her entire being until she knew that she could no longer be Silverfish. Silverfish’s will was to survive, to simply make it to the next day, and hopefully the day after that. But that was no longer her will.

Now it was revenge.

Captain Zharo. Kamon Mercado. Moray.

They would all pay.

Delicious right?!

Huge thank you to Rockstar Book Tours and Disney-Hyperion for including me on this blog tour and sending me a copy!

Want to win a finished copy??? Enter below!!!

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SCAVENGE THE STARS, US only. Giveaway ends February 14th at midnight EST.

Check out the links below, and don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour!

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide.

Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Packed with high-stakes adventure, romance, and dueling identities, this gender-swapped retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is the first novel in an epic YA fantasy duology, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo.

GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo , TBD

Tara Sim is the author of SCAVENGE THE STARS (Disney-Hyperion) and the TIMEKEEPER trilogy (Sky Pony Press) and writer of all things magic. She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California.

When she’s not writing about mischievous boys in clock towers, Tara spends her time drinking tea, wrangling cats, and occasionally singing opera. Despite her bio-luminescent skin, she is half-Indian and eats way too many samosas.

Tara is represented by Victoria Marini at Irene Goodman Literary Agency.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest | Tumblr | Goodreads 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/13/2020Books,Dreams,Life Excerpt
1/14/2020Kait Plus BooksReview
1/15/2020Starlight ReadsReview
1/16/2020Here’s to Happy Endings Review
1/17/2020BookHounds YA Excerpt

Week Two:

1/20/2020Do You Dog-ear?Review
1/21/2020fictitious.foxReview
1/22/2020The Pages In-Between Review
1/23/2020Wonder Struck Review
1/24/2020A Gingerly ReviewReview

Week Three:

1/27/2020Jrsbookreviews Review
1/28/2020Two Chicks on BooksExcerpt
1/29/2020Nay’s Pink BookshelfReview
1/30/2020onemusedReview
1/31/2020Fire and IceReview

Week Four:

2/3/2020Ficticiouswonderland Review
2/4/2020Jena Brown WritesReview
2/5/2020She Just Loves BooksReview
2/6/2020Books and Zebras Review
2/7/2020MycornerforbooksandReview

Week Five:

2/10/2020Smada’s Book Smack Review
2/11/2020Cover to Cover ReviewsReview
2/12/2020History from a Woman’s Perspective Review
2/13/2020Two Points of InterestReview
2/14/2020A Bookish Dream Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s