Deadly Resolutions!

What do you get when you take a few necromancers, a beast master, and a Queen trying to change a country? A delicious new novel!!!

Today, I am thrilled to be participating in the Penguin Teen blog tour celebrating the upcoming release of Sarah Glenn Marsh’s new novel: Song Of The Dead.

I devoured this book on vacation and, holy dead spirits guys, it was delish!!! I love, love, loved all the new characters, and how the world expands! If you loved Reign Of The Fallen, you will be swooning for Song Of The Dead.

Today though, instead of a review, I decided to give the characters some New Years Resolutions. ‘Tis the season for those, after all. And, I felt like it was very appropriate given the plot…

Odessa has gone through quite a lot in both books, but I feel like if she were to make a resolution this year, it would be to be a more active listener.

Oh sweet yet fierce Merely. Of all the struggles she’s been through, I really think the one thing she’d like to focus on this year, is being in the present and enjoying each moment.

Jax, my tough, broody, brawler of a necromancer. For sure he wants to open his heart and learn to let go of some of his anger.

Valoria is a tougher one. She is already so open and inquisitive, but I think she would want to focus on understanding the value of patience and compromise this year.

Our very own marauding pirate. Kasmira. I think she would resolve to work on her diplomacy skills rather than her knives. At least, at first.

My favorite new character is for sure Azelie! Vibrant and full of life, I think she would want to focus on being more outspoken and embracing her inner ferocity.

Karston. Oh sweet Karston. For sure, he would want to work on blindly trusting others.

Now, if only they can keep their resolutions…. I guess I’ll have to wait until the next book to find out!

In the meantime, be sure to check out both books in this lush series, and let me know what you think!!!

REIGN OF THE FALLEN

Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees? 

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red QueenReign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

SONG OF THE DEAD

The Dead must stay buried.

Karthia is nothing like it used to be. The kingdom’s borders are open for the first time in nearly three hundred years, and raising the dead has been outlawed. Odessa is determined to explore the world beyond Karthia’s waters, hoping to heal a heart broken in more ways than she can count. But with Meredy joining the ocean voyage, vanquishing her sorrow will be a difficult task.

Despite the daily reminder of the history they share, Odessa and Meredy are fascinated when their journey takes them to a land where the Dead rule the night and dragons roam the streets. Odessa can’t help being mesmerized by the new magic–and by the girl at her side. But just as she and Meredy are beginning to explore the new world, a terrifying development in Karthia summons them home at once.

Growing political unrest on top of threats from foreign invaders means Odessa and Meredy are thrust back into the lives they tried to leave behind while specters from their past haunt their tenuous relationship. Gathering a force big enough to ward off enemies seems impossible, until one of Queen Valoria’s mages creates a weapon that could make them invincible. As danger continues to mount inside the palace, Odessa fears that without the Dead, even the greatest invention won’t be enough to save their fates.

In this enthralling, heartrending sequel to Reign of the Fallen, Odessa faces the fight of her life as the boundaries between the Dead and the living are challenged in a way more gruesome than ever before.

AUTHOR BIO:

Sarah Glenn Marsh has been an avid fantasy reader from the day her dad handed her a copy of The Hobbit and promised it would change her life; she’s been making up words and worlds ever since. When she’s not writing, Sarah enjoys painting, ghost hunting, traveling, and all things nerdy. She lives in Richmond, Virginia, with her husband and their menagerie: four rescued sighthounds, a bird, and many fish. She is the author of Fear the Drowning Deep and Reign of the Fallen.

Thank you so much to Friya and Penguin Teen for sending me both books, and including me on this tour! Be sure to check out the rest of the tour, links below:

Week One

January 7 – Bibliobakes – Review

January 8 – Twinning for Books – Listicle

January 9 – A Court of Binge Reading – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

January 10 – Anxious Bookoholic – Creative Instagram Picture

January 11 – Oh Hey! Books – Author Q&A 

Week Two

January 14 – The Quirky Book Nerd – Review 

January 15 – Dazzled by Books – Creative Instagram Picture

January 16 – Smadas Books Smack – Author Q&A 

January 17 – Jena Brown Writes – Listicle: Characters New Year’s Resolutions

January 18 – The Book Shire – Listicle: Gifts the Characters would love or hate

Week Three

January 21 – YA Wednesdays – Creative Instagram Picture

January 22 – Fear Your Ex – Creative Instagram Picture

January 23 – The Fearless Reader – Playlist 

January 24 – Novel Knight – Author Q&A 

January 25 – The Book Deviant – Review + Inspired by the Book

Week Four

January 28 – The Life of a Booknerd – Favorite Quotes + Creative Instagram Picture

January 29 – The Fandom – Author Q&A

January 30 – Holed Up in a Book – Author Guest Post: Dream Cast + Creative Instagram Picture 

January 31 – Upon the pages – Review + Creative Instagram Picture

February 1 – Pop the butterfly reads – Review + Creative Instagram Picture 

5 thoughts on “Deadly Resolutions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s